Energy management systems for electromobility

VEHICLE

Project Group VEHICLE in front of Machine

The VEHICLE project develops approaches to overcome the technical limitations of current purely electric or plug-in hybrid vehicles.

The weak point in these is the battery system, especially due to long charging times and the limited energy content, but also the premature aging due to high charging / discharging dynamics. One solution is to combine complementary storage technologies into a hybrid storage system consisting of a lithium-ion battery and a supercapacitor. Its operation requires the use of an energy management system. As part of the project, such a system is to be developed using predictive algorithms, with the help of which statements on dimensions, service life, total operating costs and corresponding optimizations can be made, for example for a vehicle. For this purpose, a deterministic model for battery aging depending on the load profile is developed on the basis of experimental work at the Birkenfeld Environmental Campus ("battery diagnostics").

VEHICLE is funded as part of the Science Offensive 2018, an initiative of the European Union and the French, German and Swiss local authorities (Greater Est, Baden-Württemberg, Rhineland-Palatinate and the north-western cantons of Switzerland), which aims to finance outstanding research projects in the Upper Rhine area.

Consortium PARTNER: INSA Strasbourg, Trier University of Applied Sciences (Birkenfeld Environmental Campus), Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences ASSOCIATED PARTNERS: Centrale Lille, Université de Nantes, Sheffield Hallam University, CCI Alsace Eurométropole
Duration October 2019 - September 2022
Funded by European Fund for Regional Development, State of Baden-Würtemberg, State of Rhineland-Palatinate and Region Grand Est (in the Science Offensive 2018 program, Interreg V A Oberrhein)
Funding amount € 498,612
[Translate to Englisch:] Logo Interreg Oberrhein Rhin Supérieur
[Translate to Englisch:] Logo Wissenschaftsoffensive Trinationale Metropolregion Oberrhein
[Translate to Englisch:] Logo VEHICLE

Project management at Trier University of Applied Sciences:

Prof. Dr. Gregor Hoogers
Professor FR Physik u. Energietechnik

Contact

+49 6782 171250
+49 6782 171287

Location

Birkenfeld | Building 9916 | Room 120

Consultation

täglich nach Vereinbarung per Email
back-to-top nach oben

Energiemanagementsysteme für die Elektromobilität

VEHICLE

Projektgruppe VEHICLE vor Maschine

Das Projekt VEHICLE entwickelt Lösungsansätze, um die technischen Beschränkungen gängiger rein elektrischer oder Plug-In-Hybridfahrzeuge zu überwinden.

Schwachpunkt bei diesen ist das Batteriesystem, v.a. aufgrund langer Ladezeiten und des begrenzten Energiegehalts, aber auch die vorzeitige Alterung aufgrund hoher Lade-/Entladedynamik. Ein Lösungsansatz besteht in der Kombination komplementärer Speichertechniken zu einem Hybrid-Speichersystem bestehend aus Lithium-Ionen-Akku und Superkondensator. Dessen Betrieb erfordert den Einsatz eines Energiemanagementsystems. Im Rahmen des Projekts soll ein solches System unter Verwendung prädiktiver Algorithmen entwickelt werden, mit dessen Hilfe beispielhaft für ein Fahrzeug Aussagen zu Dimensionierung, Lebensdauer und Gesamtbetriebskosten getroffen und entsprechende Optimierungen vorgenommen werden können.  Hierzu wird auf Basis experimenteller Arbeiten am Umwelt-Campus Birkenfeld ("Batteriediagnostik") auch ein deterministisches Modell für die Batteriealterung in Abhängigkeit vom Lastprofil entwickelt.

VEHICLE wird im Rahmen der Wissenschaftsoffensive 2018 gefördert, einer Initiative der Europäischen Union und der französischen, deutschen und schweizerischen Gebietskörperschaften (Großregion Est, Baden-Württemberg, Rheinland-Pfalz und die nordwestlichen Kantone der Schweiz), die darauf abzielt, hervorragende Forschungsprojekte im Oberrheingebiet zu finanzieren.

Konsortium PARTNER: INSA Strasbourg, Hochschule Trier (Umwelt-Campus Birkenfeld), Hochschule Karlsruhe ASSOZIIERTE PARTNER: Centrale Lille, Université de Nantes, Sheffield Hallam University, CCI Alsace Eurométropole
Laufzeit Oktober 2019 – September 2022
Gefördert durch Europäischer Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung, Land Baden-Würtemberg, Land Rheinland-Pfalz und Region Grand Est (im Programm Wissenschaftsoffensive 2018, Interreg V A Oberrhein)
Fördersumme 498.612 €
Logo Interreg Oberrhein Rhin Supérieur
Logo Wissenschaftsoffensive Trinationale Metropolregion Oberrhein
Logo VEHICLE

Projektleitung an der Hochschule Trier:

Prof. Dr. Gregor Hoogers
Professor FB Umweltplanung/-technik - FR Physik u. Energietechnik

Kontakt

+49 6782 17-1250
+49 6782 17-1287

Standort

Birkenfeld | Gebäude 9916 | Raum 120

Sprechzeiten

täglich nach Vereinbarung (Email)
back-to-top nach oben